baltimore

Motorcycle Police Heading East on Orleans Over I83

I just “met” Kate online after following her blog off and on for a couple years. And unlike me, she actually has been attending the demonstrations, even though she says she hates crowds! (I can’t make that excuse.) Her account of last night’s peaceful protests– which received little to no news coverage, from what I can see– underscore how problematic are the relationships between power, authority, race, and class in this country and especially in Baltimore.

What I Saw Riding My Bike Around Today

Motorcycle Police Heading East on Orleans Over I83I had a bunch of meetings on Friday, so after spending the morning doing a wee bit of writing, I hopped on the bike and headed down to the west side to catch the shuttle to work. Because the police state that is Baltimore-under-curfew is confined to only certain neighborhoods, my ride downtown through Charles Village, Station North, and Mount Vernon was fairly cop-free, until I took the right and left toward Lexington Market.

View original post 602 more words

Leave a comment

