baltimore

Night falls, Wednesday

I hear no helicopters. I hear no sirens. Even though the curfew is not beginning for another 12 minutes, I’m oddly serene, not anxious at all about what will happen, as I’ve been for the past few days. Maybe it was today’s wonderful, youthful, peaceful demonstrations that have given me hope that perhaps we are starting a new chapter here. The past two nights it felt as though Matt & I were sitting vigil for our neighborhood, and our city, waiting tensely for bad things not to happen. Tonight, maybe I can actually get some sleep. Maybe I’ll have some dreams. I think I’ll go read a book now.

One thought on “Night falls, Wednesday

Leave a comment

