links

Here, Now, Beginning

I’ve been thinking a lot about process lately. Here’s my wise friend, colleague, and artist Janet Maher on the very subject. Thoughtful and inspiring– hope you think so too.

Trusting the Process: Getting There From Here

Journey. Pt. I ©2014 Janet Maher Journey. Pt. I ©2014 Janet Maher

Invisible and visible, the world does not exist without both. – Rumi

I recently had two back-to-back solo exhibitions, the second of which I called “Trusting the Process.” This is by now a well-worn phrase that I chose with a tip of the hat to Shaun McNiff, whose 1998 book has long been part of my studio library in the group of “books I think every artist should read.” Until this moment I didn’t realize how many other books McNiff has written, including a new one, released last year –Art As Research – which I’ve added now to my list of must-reads. Perhaps I already live what his book blurb describes.

Every bit of my world seems to revolve around process. It is the means by which I usually juggle too many things at once, all needing the same amounts of attention and dedication. By fully…

View original post 790 more words

One thought on “Here, Now, Beginning

Leave a comment

