Some poetry-related links I’ve recently run across–

  • My friend Jennifer Tuttle posted this link on FB to an interview with Sean Haldane, a neuroscientist who was just nominated to be Professor of Poetry at Oxford University–you’ll want to be sure to read to the end, as the really good stuff comes at the finish. His thoughts on poetry and how it relates to brain function are fascinating.
  • And this link is for my friends who are teachers, and those who are into pop music– or ideally, both: the Pop Sonnet tumblr, which rewrites popular song lyrics as Shakespearean sonnets. (Think anything ranging from “Livin’ on a Prayer” to “Stacy’s Mom.”) Thank Matt for this one.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Sharing the wealth

  1. Okay, you must be watching my life on youtube or something because both of those links spoke to me. I’m teaching a senior elective on sociobiology & literature, and I’m teaching poetry–and sonnets–to my juniors. Thanks. As a gift, here are two pretty cool snowball poems written by a couple of my students. The first writer breaks some rules, but he’s only 16 (I love the way he made “eventhough” one word!):

    I
    am
    cat
    like:
    sleep
    during nights
    evenwhen
    lightning
    unstopping

    LIFE

    I
    hi
    bye
    quit
    death
    coffin
    funeral

    Like

Leave a comment

