Weekly Poem Project

First weekly poem: what to write?

In case you missed it, the idea with the Weekly Poem Project is to write a poem per week from July 1-June 30, and trying a specific poetic form (sonnet, sestina, haiku, etc.) each week. Next week is my first week–help me choose a form to try.

By way of prologue, I already tried a form called a snowball–where each line of the poem is a single word, each line one letter longer than the one before. (Check out the post for my example, as well as one written by my friend Jenny in the comments.) On Facebook, I was challenged by my friend Kelly to write a “reverse” snowball, where each line has one less letter than the line before.  For those of you not on FB (or at least, not my friend on FB ;-), here is what I came up with. (I admit, it took a little cheating.)

Megalomaniac,
deceptively
innovative,
dyspeptic
magician
proudly
preens,
waves:
open
ses
am
e

That was pretty fun. And I will stress again, the point here is not to write anything good, but to write these poems to get a sense of how they work. So make a suggestion. What would you like for me to write?

And of course, I’d love for others to join in as well, with poems and observations!

2 thoughts on “First weekly poem: what to write?

  1. Yours is too good, Jean. But, here’s a silly go at it. This one is harder that the first, so mine is shorter.

    Threatening
    thunderous
    lightning
    preludes
    pouring
    waters.
    Trees
    yell
    ya
    y

    Like

Leave a comment

